Welcome to Your Class Blog!

So this is where we’ll be having some interesting discussions throughout the semester. It’s hip, it’s new, it’s INTERACTIVE, and all the kids are doing it. It’s blogging!

Blog, as I’m sure you know, is short for web log. The name reflects its common use as an online diary or journal. All posts are displayed in chronological order, with the most recent postings on top. Older posts gradually drop lower on the display list as new posts are added.

During the next three weeks, I will be giving you numerous blog assignments. These will be counted as part of your participation grade. One thing that you should keep in mind is that a post must have some substance. It can’t just be a single word response. More specifically, I’d like all our posts to be a least three sentences long. Also, use proper grammar and spelling; please, no textspeak or emoticons. Ours is what is sometimes called a “literates-only” blog. I will have the opportunity to approve every post, so if I find that your post falls short of our high standards, I will ask you to revise and re-submit. This site is live and open to anyone, so we want to make sure we are well represented.

All right, let’s get started:

As we discussed in class today, “digital media” can be broadly described as communications that are either created with, or converted into, digital code. They can be mathematically described. According to writer Lev Manovich’s Five Priciples of New Media, these objects are programmable—manipulated with a computer. With that broad definition in mind, please tell us in a brief paragraph or two the extent of your experience working with digital media (digital imaging, video editing, desktop publishing, audio editing, etc.). Please mention specific tools. Thanks!

7 Responses to “Welcome to Your Class Blog!”

  1. Hillary Stoker Says:

    My previous journalism classes at Elon have really exposed me to a lot of different forms of interactive media. I have had to create blogs, websites, news broadcasts, and other projects that involved applications such as Dreamweaver, Final Cut, and so on. Also, as we were discussing Flash in class on Friday I remembered that I actually took a class about it last year. I took JCM 365 Web Publishing and Design and we spent to whole semester working on Flash; funny thing to forget a whole class I know, my mind must have been somewhere else Friday. So I do have a little more experience with Flash than I let on during class. I am also really interested in photography and have messed around a lot with digital imaging using Photoshop.
    When I interned at my hometown newspaper they used some old school editing and layout applications. Unfortunately I cannot recall what they were called, but they were very easy to operate because of my preparation at Elon. I would not consider myself an expert at any of the applications I have used, but I am looking forward to learning more through this class.

  2. Eryn Gradwell Says:

    Although I hadn’t officially started learning about digital media until recently, I’ve realized that I’ve been working with this developing technology since I started scanning pictures onto my parents’ computer during the “pre-digital camera days.” After I scanned the photos, I would eliminate my friends’ red eyes with MS Paint. That was the only program that we owned that had the ability to make any changes to a photo. Now, after being a Communications major for a year and a half, I have learned plenty of editing tools and programs that are much better than using a default tool under the “accessories” menu on a PC.
    I have always been very interested in photography, and I have come across plenty of photographs that have fascinated me. Now, after learning about Photoshop, I can’t stop questioning every picture I see! I’ll look at a photograph of a beautiful sunrise or a perfectly lighted room and just think to myself, “I can do that on Photoshop.” So yes, I have experience with digital imaging through Photoshop (not to mention I can do some pretty nifty things with MS Paint.)
    This past fall was a whirlwind of a semester when I basically spent most of my time in the edit labs in the basement of McEwen. This was the time where I became best friends with Final Cut Pro. I worked on at least one video project every two weeks, and I also had a 10-minute package that I worked on for the entire semester. I did all of my video editing on Final Cut Pro as well as the audio editing that went with the piece.
    Finally, I learned a little about Dreamweaver during the last part of my Digital Media Convergence course over the fall semester. We created the buttons, images, and columns with Photoshop, but we generated the actual Web site through Dreamweaver. I’d like to learn more about Web site building because I only dipped my feet into it during the class period.
    Although I am only a rookie at editing, I want to continue on this path and learn more about digital media through this course.

  3. Janus Rogerson Says:

    Well let’s see…I’ve been working in school media since the 3rd Grade but I don’t think I really started experiencing digital media until high school. My high school was fortunate to have received a grant to basically create a cyber campus. As a result we had a fully equipped television studio, computer lab and distance-learning classroom. While working for my high school TV station I was able to learn about video editing through the Adobe Premiere 6.5 program. I also took a distance-learning Calculus course through the NC School of Science and Mathematics. This distance-learning experience was very interesting for me. Every morning we would log on for a video conference with our teacher. Homework was checked by holding it under a camera and anything that had to be physically turned in was mailed. It wasn’t the easiest way to take a course but I did learn a lot. It was almost like we were lab rats for the future of distance-learning possibilities.

    In addition to these experiences I have also had some training on how to use Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Photoshop, Protools LE & HD, and Final Cut. While I have enjoyed working with most of these programs Protools and Final Cut were two of the most interesting for me because I was able to explore their possibilities more than the others. I’m looking forward to this class and being able to learn more about what Flash has to offer.

  4. Bethany Swanson Says:

    Most of my experience, like the girls have already mentioned, comes from classes taken here at Elon. As a journalism major, we’re required to take Digital Media Convergence. I found this class completely eye-opening in terms of new media and tools to be used to create and design. Since taking that class, I have started messing around with Photoshop on my own time, reworking photographs and images. Like I mentioned in class on Friday, I’m very interested in the idea of taking images from more traditional media, and manipulating and adjusting them using digital media. I am also really interested in trying to use the elements of sound and time, by using Final Cut Pro software (which I learned in DMC) to play with the way I (the general we) look at more traditional work.

    In addition to my classwork here at Elon, I’ve also started to work a little with In Design for The Pendulum. I’m still learning, but I think this program could be really useful in my work at the paper and almost assuredly in the future, in the “real world.”

  5. Shenee Howard Says:

    I took a digital art class last semester and most of my software knowledge comes from there. I have completed many projects with adobe Photoshop and Photoshop Illustrator so I can maneuver around those programs pretty easily. For one digital art project, we were required to make an “interactive” website using Photoshop. I am not sure how helpful a skill like that will be for a class that teaches flash but it is a skill I have. I also like to utilize Adobe Bridge for organizing. For another project in digital art, I had to alter a video clip frame by frame using Photoshop and QuickTime. QuickTime isn’t as advanced as Final Cut but I was able to edit and cut with it just fine. I also have a freeware web design program called MoreMotion Web Express.

  6. Scott Lauer Says:

    I feel as Communications student’s we are all fairly well equipped in terms of being able to know and understand new technologies. My main experiences, in my major, come from Digital Media Convergence, and Corporate Publishing. In these classes I learned how to use Photoshop on basic levels, for simple adjustments and manipulations to make photos more presentable, or interesting while keeping realism for real life applications. I also used Illustrator in these classes to do similar manipulations, but more for design, such as logos. I also learned how to use Quark, which was wildly confusing at first, but now it seems like a worthwhile tool for setting templates or designs, especially when looking to mass produce something, or when creating a layout that anyone could fill in later. In classes I also learned how to use Final Cut Pro, where I learned some basic editing skills, which after this experience I learned video editing was not for me. Additionally, I have learned Dreamweaver on a basic, and more advanced level enabling me to create websites with relative ease.

    In Digital Art I & II classes I was taught much more advanced skills for both Photoshop and Illustrator. These tools are good on a professional level, but using them as a creative outlet was much more interesting and exciting for me. Again the emphasis was on manipulation, sometimes to make something totally unrecognizable, other times to take a photograph and not change the physical elements, but to change the meaning using other tools. In these classes we also learned sophisticated ways to use scanners and printers to get unusual, but often desirable effects that many would not know without some experimentation.

  7. Lauren Kelly Says:

    Before I came to Elon, I did not have much experience working with digital media. I learned a few in Digital Media Convergence; Final Cut Pro, Photoshop and Dreamweaver. Dreamweaver was definitely the most difficult (and frustrating!) for me to learn and use. Our final project for that class was to create, film and edit our own short story. We used still photos in our film as well.

    I chose to take Corporate Video my junior year, which definitely refined my editing skills in Final Cut. Initially, I was very intimidated of the class as my only background with Final Cut was in Digital Media. Even though the final project was not perfect, I was really proud of my improvement over the semester. Each student in the class was given a local client, each of who were members of the Alamance County Chamber of Commerce. Our assignment was to write, shoot and edit a five-minute promotional video for each client. These videos were aired on a local television show called “It’s Your Business.” (http://www.alamancechamber.com/its-your-business/default.asp?vid=6) I got to work with the Women’s Resource Center and really enjoyed the class. I also had limited experience with LiveType during that semester.

    In the spring of my junior year I had an internship with an advertising agency in High-Point where I was immersed daily in digital media. My supervisor loved showing me things on YouTube and how to work Second Life. During that semester I worked with GarageBand editing podcast interviews for the MS Society website. Since media changes so quickly, I am definitely excited to learn as much as I can during this class.

Leave a Reply

