A Blog Of Your Own

Tomorrow, we’ll create blogs for each of you. To prepare for that, please read this guide to blogging.

Also, tell us about any blogs you visit with frequency and link to them. Why do you regularly visit a particular blog? Do you participate or just lurk in the shadows? If you don’t participate, what’s preventing you from getting in on the action?

One blog I check every other day or so is the blog of my friend, writer Felicia Sullivan. Her blog is a mixture of journal entries, plugs for her upcoming book and radio show and journal and events and readings and appearances (Felicia’s busy), food talk and very real confessions. I started reading just to see what she was up to, then got hooked. Now it’s part of my weekly/daily Internet rounds and I have a complex list of reasons why I return again and again. Just a few: I simply enjoy Felicia’s voice and ideas; I learn a lot about publishing a first book; I learn a lot about the NYC writing scene; I learn a lot about food; I learn a lot about green living; I learn a lot about Gossip Girl.

Do you have a blog like this in your life? Tell us about it.

7 Responses to “A Blog Of Your Own”

  1. Hillary Stoker Says:

    I have made blogs before for classes, but I have to admit that I do not subscribe to any. To tell the truth the only websites I look at regularly (besides email and online shopping) are Facebook and espn.com. Like most college students I am basically obsessed with Facebook; it is a good way for me to keep in touch with people from home and people I met in China. I won’t lie, I check Facebook around 4-5 times a day which may seem a little stalker like I know, but I just can’t help myself. It’s so addicting!
    Since I spend so much time on Facebook I really have no idea why I am not more involved in blogging. From the work I have done on class projects I know that setting up a blog can be very easy, but after initial setup blogs require steady attention. On sites such as Facebook I don’t have to update my profile that often; I can just be a creeper and surf other profiles. Or maybe I just haven’t found a blog that interests me or involves me enough to keep my attention. Whatever the reason, I just haven’t gotten into the blogging culture but I am sure if I found the right site that could change.

  2. Bethany Swanson Says:

    I am, and I love to admit it, a blogger. I started it as way to keep in touch with my family and friends when I spent the semester in London last spring. I managed to update it fairly frequently, including photos and plenty of musings. Following my return to the States, I decided to keep it up and have been (not as frequently) updating it since the end of the summer.

    In addition, I frequent a few blogs. My friend Olivia studied with me in London. She was my roommate for 2 years and is one of my best friends. She is actually the reason I started blogging in the first place. She is an extremely thoughtful individual, I love getting her take on situations, so her blog allows me to keep up even though we don’t live together any more. My friend from high school, Kristina also has a blog; she’s abroad all year, she spent the first semester in Chile and is spending the spring in Germany. It’s a great way to sort of travel with her.

    For me, blogging and reading blogs is more about keeping in touch than it is about gaining news or information. I do from time to time frequent the Huffington Post. But usually, I get my news from washingtonpost.com which itself has a bunch of blogs…

    I find it almost voyeuristic to read people’s blogs, to hear about their lives from them, but through an alternative source. It’s like getting the gossip, but from the horses mouth. Actually a weird thing happened to me, I ran into my friend Kristina while she happened to be home for the week and a half between her change in locale. And since I’d been reading her blog I could ask her all these questions about the operation she had in Chile and all sorts of other, almost stalker-esque things. But the funny/weird thing was, she knew all about my life too. It’s become easier than ever to stay in touch with the people we know and love. Excellent, yes. A little weird, sometimes. But reality will always win.

  3. Janus Rogerson Says:

    Sadly I am not a devoted follower of any particular blog. Sometimes I’ll tune into Youtube and watch a particular creators videos but I don’t constantly check to see if they’ve added something new. In fact the only way I find out something new has been added is through my friends telling me. Recently though I have become interested in Flickr’s blog. There are some amazing photographers out there and I love the fact that they want to share their experience, through pictures, with the world. It is always interesting to look other viewers’ comments, particularly when they are written in another language. I guess for me seeing those comments in other languages makes me realize how small the world is and the power of pictures/ blogs to inspire people everywhere.

    After reading your experience with Felicia’s blog, I decided that maybe I was missing something by not having a blog that I was devoted to reading. So tonight I set out to find one through the 2007 Bloggies winners. While there were many interesting blogs to choose from I found one called Confessions of a Pioneer Woman. Ree, the woman who writes this blog, has a great sense of humor and cares for wild Mustangs with her family for the Bureau of Land Management. I have always loved horses so it is wonderful to look at all her pictures and hear her talk about her life on the ranch. Ree’s blog is hilarious so check it out if you have the time. To show my new found devotion to it I am a taking a big step and I’m adding it to my favorites.

  4. Scott Lauer Says:

    To be honest I do have many websites I check on a daily basis, but I really am not faithful to any blogs. I check some music blogs totally randomly to see if anything might have passed me by or gone “under the radar,” but for the most part I prefer message boards to blogs as I find them to be more interactive. One blog that is normally pretty interesting is Woebot, which covers old jazz. This blog recently stopped updating, but it was interesting to look into an older genre that is so expansive that it is rather intimidating to tackle without guidance.

    http://www.woebot.com/

  5. Lauren Kelly Says:

    (Earmuffs, Ken Calhoun)

    I hate to admit it but I really don’t look at blogs! I hope that by creating my own, it will help spark some interest in contributing to other’s and reading what they have to say. I followed the blog of a friend of mine for a week or so but never really got hooked. I have the misconception that a blog is just like a diary. Truthfully, it made me feel like I was invading her personal thoughts and it was a little uncomfortable. I know there are other blogs out there that are completely different, I just need to search around more to find one that interests me.

  6. http://postsecret.blogspot.com

    The blog that I’m about to post isn’t really your typical blog. Instead of just having one author, this blog is written by anyone from anywhere. It’s called PostSecret, and I check this blog religiously.

    PostSecret is an ongoing community art project that is kept on a blog (but they have books of the blog posts as well). People mail in their secrets anonymously on a homemade postcard and send it to Frank, the “keeper” of the secrets. Every Sunday, he’ll post a few of the secrets he receives in the mail up on the blog.

    The initial concept of PostSecret was that completely anonymous people decorate a postcard and portray a secret that they had never previously revealed. No limitations are made on the content of the secret; only that it must be completely truthful and must never have been spoken before.

    Entries range from admissions of sexual misconduct and criminal activity to confessions of secret desires, embarrassing habits, hopes and dreams.

    I love this blog so much because of the whole concept. People who send in these secrets think that there’s no more hope for them; that nobody on earth could possibly know what they are going through. Most of the time, the responses that are posted under the postcards say, “I know exactly how you feel, that same thing happened to me. You’ll get through it, just believe in yourself.” This blog inspires people to keep going.

  7. Shenee Howard Says:

    I love TV recaps. I love watching anything and seeing what anyone else has to say about it. There is this website called tvgasm and they have lots of tv recaps for my favorite shows. I also read popwatch everyday. I am a big fan of a couple of the writers at ew.com and their blogs are usually pretty interesting. They put together best of lists and all that. Other than that, I am not really in touch with the blog world.
    Oh, and Zach Braff. I enjoy his blog because I enjoy him.
    John Mayer has one too but John Mayer bothers me now. His commitment phobia has effected my impression on him. When he talks about all that love stuff in his songs, I just wanna be like, “shut up, you cant even keep one!”
    I feel like that was really off topic.
    http://www.tvgasm.com/
    http://popwatch.ew.com/

Leave a Reply

